Where is All this Business/Social Networking Going?

This morning, an Applied Entrepreneurship member posted the following point for discussion.

            Does Twitter collect your personally identifiable information?

Please feel free to check out an interesting article at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twitter

I thought this article contained an interesting perspective on Twitter. The article can be found at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twitter

This week, one of my neighbors decided to start adding “friends” to his Facebook account. I got one direct e-mail telling me I should join so I could see the photos he was posting there, and everybody in our neighborhood e-mail directory also got one through the Yahoo engine we use for our community. Here’s the original message.

             Check out my photos on Facebook

            Hi Stuart,

I set up a Facebook profile where I can post my pictures, videos and events and I want to add you as a friend so you can see it. First, you need to join Facebook! Once you join, you can also create your own profile.

            Thanks,

            Xxxxx

            To sign up for Facebook, follow the link below:….. (link)”

 

Getting two of these was bad enough, since I had already made a decision not to join Facebook. Worse yet, the next day, I got another message generated by Facebook indicating the person who sent the original request to join, had now connected with another “friend” in the neighborhood. I really didn’t want to be notified every time Xxxxx made a friend with Yyyyyyy or Zzzzz. The silly thing is that Xxxxx was already a friend of Yyyyyyy, and everybody in the neighborhood knew it. Did we really need to be “forced” to take the time to read about this?

 

To me, this is SPAM. This week alone, I have gotten requests from people to join four different networks I had never heard of before I received the request to join them there.

 

When I research articles to post here, I often find that the professional bloggers and Web authors list 8-10 different places I can “follow” them in Twitter style, or find other articles they have written.

 

I have to admit, if one of my business associates had not sent me an invitation to join him on LinkedIn, I would never have started this site. I have joined a few others since, such as Plaxo, but have not spent any time there trying to add the details or content I have in the LinkedIn network.

 

One has to wonder where all the social networking is going. Every day, there are certainly more players joining the multitudes already on the field. If you added one sentence to each of ten social network sites every day, how long would it take you just to log in, add the content, and log out. That presumes you wouldn’t be checking up on others to see what your daily ROI was for participation in that site, nor doing anything else. It would have to take a chunk of time which, it would seem to me, might be spent more productively elsewhere.

 

Thus far, in looking at some of the other sites I have been asked to join, I have, quite naturally, found that the same people are on all the sites. Certainly there are always some new ones, but in almost every case, I have found that those I’m connected with on LinkedIn are really the only ones I’m interested in connecting with on other networks.

 

Several of the articles I have posted on the Applied Entrepreneurship site, including a couple today, speak to the issue of measuring the effectiveness of social/business networking. I would be interested in reading opinions from other members on their experiences with various social/business networks and the effective ROI they are receiving.

Posted in business, Social networking & media

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Topsites
Business Blogs
Support local businesses

Help your local favorite business win!

Share
Bookmark and Share
